DOTr requires contactless, cashless toll payments by Nov 2

The Department of Transportation (DOTr) reiterates that cashless transactions on toll expressways should be implemented not later than November 2, 2020 as directed in DOTr Department Order (DO) 2020-012.

Signed on August 13, DO 2020-012 directs the Toll Regulatory Board (TRB), Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB), and Land Transportation Office (LTO) to formulate new processes and procedures to ensure the smooth implementation of cashless transactions on toll expressways.

TRB, as the implementing authority over limited access facilities, is directed to promulgate rules and regulations that will require concessionaires and operators to transition to 100% electronic toll collection lanes.

DO 2020-012 further states that TRB should ensure that concessionaires and operators install electronic tags or other cashless systems, such as, but not limited to, radio frequency identification (RFID) and Automated Fare Collection System (AFCS) for all motorists and motor vehicles using the toll expressways. These toll operators should also be transacting only through cashless payment mode of toll not later than November 2.

TRB executive director Abraham Sales in a statement said the agency is already coordinating with its concessionaires and operators on this matter, while also working on the implementing rules and regulations of the new policy.

This, Sales said, is “to ensure smooth and expedient transition to contactless and cashless transactions. Ginagawa natin ‘yan para walang hawaan [ng COVID-19].”

LTO, meanwhile, has been put in charge of exploring ways and means to allow for a full cashless and contactless system along expressways. The LTFRB, on the other hand, will monitor the compliance of all public utility vehicles (PUVs) with the mandatory use/installation of electronic tags or use of other cashless systems in their units.

Contactless transactions will be implemented in the following identified limited access facilities:

  • South Luzon Expressway (SLEX)
  • Manila-Cavite Toll Expressway (CAVITEX)
  • North Luzon Expressway (NLEX)
  • South Metro Manila Skyway
  • Southern Tagalog Arterial Road (STAR) Tollway
  • Subic-Clark-Tarlac Expressway (SCTEX)
  • Cavite-Laguna Expressway (CALAX)

All other road networks, including any extension of the existing expressway facilities mentioned, that may be constructed, established and/or operated as expressway toll facilities
Metro Pacific Tollways Corp. (MPTC), which operates NLEX, CAVITEX, SCTEX, and CALAX, in a separate statement said its group-wide RFID sticker installation campaign is already onstream, adding it “will be ready to implement contactless toll payments consistent with the timeline.”

DOTr said the new policy ensures further protection of the public from COVID-19 by promoting adherence to health protocols such as physical distancing through limiting human intervention, and removing traffic queues as well as congestion at toll plazas.

(For the full article, please visit

Close Menu